top of page
TIG Environmental 2023 Battelle Sediments

January 16, 2023

TIG Environmental at the 2023 Battelle Sediments Conference

TIG Environmental made several presentations at the Eleventh International Conference on the Remediation and Management of Contaminated Sediments from January 9 to 12, 2023 in Austin, Texas.


Our staff co-chaired three sessions, co-chaired two panels, gave six platform presentations, and presented two posters. Participating colleagues included Philip Spadaro; Mike Bock; Tim Negley; Kate Lasseter; Jason Dittman; Nick Rose, and Erin O’Connell. 


Further information regarding our presentations can be found below.

Will Sediment Caps Last Forever? And How Should We Address the Possibility that They Don’t?

Tuesday, January 10, 2023

8:00–9:40 am CST

Moderator: Steve Garbaciak (steve.garbaciak@foth.com) (Foth Environment Solutions, Chicago, IL) Co-moderator: Philip Spadaro (pspadaro@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Seattle, WA), Jennifer Hagen (Jennifer.Hagen@ramboll.com), Tim Havranek (Thavranek@ramboll.com) and Victor Magar (vmagar@ramboll.com) (Ramboll), Helder Costa (hcosta@haleyaldrich.com) and Garry Horvitz (ghorvitz@haleyaldrich.com) (Haley and Aldrich), Andrew Timmis (atimmis@jfbrennan.com) (J.F. Brennan Company, Inc., La Crosse, WI)

Integrating R, Power BI, and ArcGIS Online to Guide Sediment Investigations and Allocation Toward Better Decision-Making

Tuesday, January 10, 2023

12:35 pm CST

Tim Negley (tnegley@intell-group.com), Jamie C. Combes (jcombes@intell-group.com), and

Katie Ives (kives@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Syracuse, NY, USA)

Session E3: Remediation of Ports, Harbors, and Urban Waterways

Tuesday, January 10, 2023

1:50–5:35 PM

Chairs: Philip Spadaro (TIG Environmental) and Amber Wilson (Infrastructure Alternatives, Inc)

Forensic Analysis of PCDD/Fs and PCBs in the Lower Two Miles of the Passaic River, NJ

Tuesday, January 10, 2023

5:45–7:00 pm CST

Michael Bock (mbock@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Portland, ME, USA) and Nicholas Rose (nrose@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, New York, NY, USA)

Session C5: Remedy Cost Allocation Considerations and Alternative Financial Models

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

8:00–9:40 am CST

Chairs: Kate Lasseter (TIG Environmental) and Larry Silver (Langsam Stevens Silver & Hollaender)

Alternative Approaches for Funding Cleanup of Contaminated Sediments

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

9:15 am CST

Philip Spadaro (pspadaro@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Seattle, WA, USA) and Larry Rosenthal (lar@berkeley.edu) (University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA)

Efficient and Effective Community and Stakeholder Engagement at Superfund Sites

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

10:30 am CST

Erin E. O’Connell (eoconnell@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Portland, OR, USA) Jason Dittman (jdittman@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Syracuse, NY, USA) Kate Lasseter (klasseter@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Bedminster, NJ, USA) Philip Spadaro (pspadaro@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Seattle, WA, USA)

Beneficial Use of Contaminated Sediments: Cities, Polluters, Ports, Developers and “Circularity” Economics

Wednesday, January 11, 2023

5:45–7:00 pm CST

Philip Spadaro (pspadaro@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Seattle, WA, USA) and Larry Rosenthal (lar@berkeley.edu) (University of California, Berkeley, CA, USA)

Session B8: Advanced Data Analysis and Decision Tools

Thursday, January 12, 2023

8:00–11:45 am CST

Chairs: Tim Negley (TIG Environmental) and Philip Goodrum (GSI Environmental)

Beneficial Use of Contaminated Sediments: The Promise and the Challenge

Thursday, January 12, 2023

8:00–9:40 am CST

Moderators

Steven Nadeau (Sedment Management Work Group)

Philip Spadaro (pspadaro@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental)


Panelists

Eric Hedblom (Barr Engineering Co.)

Claire Detering, MS (Windward Environmental LLC)

David Moore, PhD (USACE - Environmental Research and Development Center [ERDC])

Eric Stern (Tipping Point Resources Group, LLC)

Larry Rosenthal, JD, MPP, PhD (Goldman School of Public Policy,

University of California Berkeley)

A Modeling Approach for Estimating Background Concentrations in Large Urban Contaminated Sediment Sites

Thursday, January 12, 2023

12:10 pm CST

Nicholas D. Rose (nrose@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, New York, NY, USA) and Mike Bock (mbock@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Portland, ME, USA)

Evaluating Source Control Sufficiency with TIGSED, a Small-Scale Sediment Contamination Model

Thursday, January 12, 2023

1:00 pm CST

Nicholas D. Rose (nrose@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, New York, NY, USA), Philip Spadaro (pspadaro@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Seattle, WA, USA) and Jason Dittman (jdittman@intellgroup.com) (TIG Environmental, Syracuse, NY USA)

Contaminated Sediment and Climate Change –Sediment Desiccation, The Unthought About Hazard for Caps and MNR

Thursday, January 12, 2023

2:15 pm CST

Jason Dittman (jdittman@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Syracuse, NY, USA) and  Philip Spadaro (pspadaro@intell-group.com) (TIG Environmental, Seattle, WA, USA)

TIG Environmental Staff

View bio

Dennis Farley

President & CEO

View bio

Paul Brzozowski, PE

Managing Director

Business Development Lead

View bio

Timothy Negley

Managing Director

Data Analytics & Visualization Services Lead

View bio

Philip Spadaro, LG

Vice President & Principal Scientist

Contaminated Sediments Market Lead

View bio

Jason Dittman, PhD

Managing Director

Engineering and Remedial Services Lead

View bio

Erin O'Connell

Project Scientist

Health & Safety Administrator

View bio

Michael Bock, PhD

Managing Director

Environmental Forensics Services Lead

View bio

Kate Lasseter, PMP

Managing Director

Liability and Allocation Services Lead / ESG Lead

View bio

Nicholas Rose

Senior Scientist

bottom of page